Questions on a short sale and foreclosure deals

Hi guys, i am a newbie and i just received a call from someone with a short sale deal. The agent has it listed for 230k and balanced owed is 300k,i have a negotiator,what would i need from the agent to send to my negotiator to start working on it. As for the foreclosure,i am finding deals,but i am afraid to make offers because i am not sure,for example a property 3/2 for 56,000 and comps are 135,000. Agent even told me i can get it for a lower price than that,and assign it if i want or double close since you can’t assign. I am going to offer 45,000. Can anyone help me please, i find these deals all the time, but i am just afraid they are not right,repairs in this property is some TLC and that’s it. What should i do with both opportunities and how can i succeed down the road,because i keep finding them and not know what to do. Fear of a newbie.Please help, thank you

The deals sound good, but there are some things you should know. First, The short sale must be approved by the entity that owns the note. That entity is usually a secondary market investor (SMI), such as Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, both of which are now owned by the government. The servicing lender usually has no authority to approve the short sale, merely to process the proposal and serve as an intermediary between the SMI and whoever is submitting the short sale proposal. If a private mortgage insurance carrier has paid a claim, then the MI carrier either now owns the note, or at least must also be given opportunity to approve the short sale proposal.
Although it used to be that that the SMI would merely evaluate the short sale by whether it is better for them than an REO (bank owned property), most of the SMI’s are now using a minimum threshold net percentage of the fair market value. HUD’s thresholds (Fannie Mae FHA/VA loans) is 88% if the house sold in 30 days, 86% if sold between 30 and 60 days, and 84% if it sells later than 60 days.