investing in chicago

Hi chicago investors! im new to the web site but have been an rei exclusively since 1998. my current area of focus is preforeclosures. just want to hear from other chicago investors old and new to swap stories, ideas, and who knows, there is a world of possibilities!

Cayenne,

Similar situation.

Are you doing this downtown?

GJS

In my opinion there is no resonable way for average investors to make money downtown or the northside for that matter. those areas are thick with big time developers, old money investors and the like. I invest solely on the far southside where there are far more opportunities and less competition. the neighborhoods can be a little rough but the money is there.

I agree, it’s a tight market downtown. Mine have also been on the south side. How far south are you? Do you live down there too?

I primarily invest in lower income areas like englewood, and roseland.

South Shore for me, and I actually live in my building (12 unit). Three streets over it’s really overcrowded (blocks with many 24 + unit buildings), but my street is mostly houses and two flats. Because of the lower density on my street there’s always parking and believe it or not it’s actually very peaceful. It’s 6:04 PM, my window is open and there’s not a sound from the street coming in aside from the occasional car passing by.

I didn’t initially intend to live here when I bought the building in 1998, but I have been since 2001. I’ve watched 6 flats in the area that were selling for $295,000 back in 1998 rise to $595,000 today. I could kick myself for my getting off track(6 years courting, marrying and divorcing a woman I wish I’d never met). I have to get the old prices out of my head and just look at the area for the way it is now. There’s still a lot of good things happening over here, but I don’t see another rise in appreciation like the rise since 1998. The rents just wouldn’t support it. Condo conversions are another story.