Infowell: im a realtor, but i'd like to invest...how I do so safely?

Hello all!

I’ve read a post a few weeks ago which asked the question “Should I get my realtor’s license”. Now there were mixed replies. Since I just recently obtained my license, I’d like to focus on the people on this board who do as well. I recall someone posting (I’ll try to dig this up) saying that they have their license and it hasn’t inhibited their ability to invest. I’d like to know I can make this work for me as well. I’ll take preforeclosures for example. If i meet with these people, I have to disclose to them that I’m a real estate agent. How can I do so w/out scaring them away? How can I accomplish getting a good deal on the house w/out breaking the ethics of “getting the best price of the home for the seller”.

This is just a small example, I’m sure there are other’s in which being a RE agent requires you to do things a little differnetly. Please share these situations and resolutions (or work arounds) here.

Thanks all!

I was able to dig up the old thread here: http://www.reiclub.com/forums/index.php?board=29;action=display;threadid=6600

It seems Infowell (hopefully you’re still around :slight_smile: ) could be of some help. Anyone else can feel free to answer as well though.

Ryanpal-

When investing: Disclosing the fact you have a Real Estate License shouldn’t be a problem for you (it’s never been a problem for me).

If someone is mistrustful or doesn’t want to deal with you because, you have a RE License…simply move on. There’s so much opportunity–there’s just no sense in wasting your time with suspicious or apprehensive people.

Moreover, your investment style will probably vary from others who post here regularly. Having a real estate license–you’ll see much more opportunity than a typical investor.