how to find a real estate mentor?

I’m new to real estate investing and never made my first deal yet but i was wondering how you guys made your first deal and how to find a mentor? I’v been searching the internet everywhere and most of it is just a bunch of scams. I really want to start learning but i feel someone guiding me would help out a lot. If anyone could help please pm me, thanks.

There are a lot of us whose first deal was done (nearly) back in biblical times, but the more important question might be what types of deals are working in today’s market place. If I were just starting out, this would be my short list of types of deals I’d be looking to close:

1. long term sandwich lease purchases on homes, townhomes, and condos under $250k;
  2. ‘subject to’ deals;
  3. Mobile Home and Land Packages (the home, land, utilities installed are far less than the value when all put together as a package);
  4. cheap mobile homes to buy at huge discounts for cash and re-sell with private owner financing at full retail.

Oddly enough, the majority of the nearly 400 transactions which I’ve done since 1991 consist of he above 4 items. These are still working successfully in today’s unusual marketplace.

Keeping our deals small will help in preventing you from making a mistake which will break your entire business model…keep things small and remember the cheaper the home, the more potential market you have to re-sell…there are far more families who can afford a $300 monthly payment for a cheap house than a $3000 payment in a yuppie neighborhood.

Hope this helps.

Rob

Rob in Atlanta is certainly correct with regard to the suggestions he made. I would add that each geographic area is different, so your decision should be made on the basis of what works best where you invest as well as your personal interests.