Changes in the industry, NC

Hello friends and neighbors,

I’m a newbie to this forum as well as to the real estate industry. I’m currently working toward a provisional broker’s license and plan to earn a broker’s license before the first of next year ;). After completing this goal I will have put in nearly 240 hours. Within the next 3 years NC will become an all broker state with good reason I think.

I’ve read many of your topics and shared discussion with many seasoned agents and brokers relating to issues within the industry. Every month agents and brokers are being reported to the NC Real Estate Commission with issues relating to real estate law, agency practices, and discremination issues. NC has realized there is a huge difficiency within the system and is now taking action to clean-up the industry.

I’ve heard from many that once you leave the classroom and work in the field you may utilize 10% of what you’ve been taught. This was a disturbing thought to me :(. I feel that 85% of what I’m being taught as it relates to real estate law is the backbone or basis of protecting and assisting clients, 3rd parties, agents, and brokers, as well as keeping the industry clean and honest. I then realized that NC does indeed have a problem within the real estate industry.

My personal experiences and dealings with agents in the field left a lot to be desired, and this is why I decided to pursue a career in real estate because the general public deserves competent and knowledgable professionals to represent them and guide them through the various stages of the process.