Why should I put my home in an LLC?

Guys,

I’m buying my first home and closing it in my name. I have a deal with an attorney where he’ll transfer the home to an LLC free of charge.

But my question is, what’s the benefit of having it put into an LLC? Does it change anything in regards to paying taxes on it, depreciation, etc. etc.

I know this is a newbie and well, I’m a newbie in this area. If you have a good source to learn more about this, please post it…

Insurance is a better solution for a newbie. It will provide the same benefits as any AP plan you can devise. You can revisit LLCs, etc when you approach a net worth in excess of $5M. At that point, you have something to protect and the resources to protect them properly. Proper planning will require a multilayer, comprehensive plan for your life, not just your real estate. It is so much more than putting property in an LLC.

If you are interested in the privacy/smoke and mirrors aspect of asset protection (i. e. LLCs will prevent a lawsuit from being filed), you only need a trust. It does the same thing as everything else without all the expenses. The stuff you read online or see at conventions doesn’t work as advertised. In the past, an LLC may have scared off people most of the time. It doesn’t anymore. Plaintiff’s attorneys and creditors have their own conventions where they learn to beat LLCs and other asset protection garbage pushed by gurus.

A good attorney will stop a bogus claim quickly and insurance covers most legitimate claims. That does the job without the need for an LLC or complicated planning. If there is a possibility of a multimillion dollar judgment, a single LLC won’t do much good if you lose. Even if you win, you will have spent many thousands of dollars defending yourself.

If this is your “first” home, do you mean that this home is to be your primary residence? If so, I have been told that the last thing you want to do is put title to your primary residence in an LLC.