Why LLC? And how?

Another newguy question, sorry. Why LLC? I’m looking into buying my first REI property to rehab, possibly rent out afterwards, should I LLC? If so, how would I go about that?

Just read Bill Bronchik - several arts on LLC and LP.

Do your own homework, I’m new to this and am finding that the same questions get asked over and over…look even in the previous posts - great posts. you can get some real good insight.

but check and recheck everything everyone says on here.

TMcG

I agree - research all the threads on the forum and especially utilize the search function. Most likely the same questions you have, have been answered previously. There is a wealth of knowledge available here with everyones contributions.

Why LLC? Asset protection
How? Many sites can help you out. Currently I am reading up on LLC/C-Corp/S-Corp online at legalzoom.com. Do a google search and I am sure you will find many companies that offer similar products.

Good Luck!

Howdy Mjws:

In Texas you can form a LLC on line for $200. Quick and easy and cheap. Asset protection for some extent but you will still have to sign personally on most loans that you obtain to buy property.

I believe the rates for entity creation across the board (i.e., LLC, S-corp, C-corp, LLP, etc.) went up by $100 starting this year in Texas, therefore, forming an LLC now costs you $300 (according to my CPA).

Asset protection.

Corporate stock is considered an “investment”. As such it is subject to be awarded to satisfy a judgement. In the event you are personally sued, this would leave your adversary owning the stock of your corporation and therefore all of its assets.

Member interest in an LLC is considered personal property. As such is cannot be awarded to satisfy a judgement.

Both a corporation and an LLC protect you from the company’s liabilities, but only the LLC protects the company from your personal liabilities.