Wholesaling, what it is and how to get started?

I had a friend who introduced me into wholesaling, but right now I’m in my research phase :eyecrazy( trying to grasp what exactly I will be doing). Since I have never actually sold a home to an investor what are some things I need to be preparing myself for in this line of work as far as my first sale is concerned?? I hope this makes sense and thank you in advance. :help

The best part about wholesaling is that it is risk free to get started. As a wholesaler you need to build an extensive list of investors that you can present your deals to. You will need to find out their buying criteria as well as how they fund their deals. The more buyers you have the more comfortable you will be in making your offers. If you are not 100% comfortable when you start I suggest that you start out with options just to protect yourself in case you make a mistake.

I have been working as an investor for about 3 months and closed my first wholesale deal today. Here is how I did it:

1. I joined 2 local REI clubs and began networking with rehabbers and landlords to build my buyers list.
  2. I used my county tax records to build a list of absentee owners and started mailing to them using yellow letters.
  3. I followed up each call I got until I found a seller with a fixer upper that they were willing to sell for cheap.
  4. I estimated ARV, visited the house and estimated repairs, and figured out my max purchase price (.7*ARV - repairs - desired assignment fee). I was able to meet the seller’s asking price and I put the house under an assignable contract. I used an assignable sales contract instead of an option since I felt pretty confident in being able to find a buyer.