Wholesale or short sale...

I took the leap and started to market and the phone is ringing…both are in foreclosure. The second deal below goes to the steps on the 14th.

I have two deals pending…both owners are willing to walk away and let me try a short sale. The problem is that both have a good chunk of equity. I dont want the BPO to come back higher than the amount owed.

1st house - owes 86K and is worth 140K. No repairs needed. The house is in great shape. Should I wholesale and move or or short sale?

2nd house - owes 78K and the home is worth 120 ARV. Needs about 5K in work. Carpet, door and window. The homes in the area appraise for 125 to 150K, the home next door is on the market for 55K. I am digging it to what is up there. Any ideas here…short sale or wholesale.

Any input would be great. I am brand new to all this.

:cool

Good job so far!

How much are the arrears (back payments) on the properties?

Based on the equity you have in these deals, you should line up this additional exit strategy.

If the seller is willing to walk away, you can make an agreement to find a buyer who will take over the payments. They have to bring enough cash to pay you and also catch up the loan.

With that kind of equity, you should find a subject-to buyer, someone who you can assign the contract to, or heck you might even find a backer and catch the payments up yourself and refi it out later after improvements.

Depending on your exit strategy, you can keep it for cash flow or find someone else who would.

I say this instead of the short sale because you could lose the deal before they approve and there are already so many elements of a good deal: equity, seller willing to walk away, little/no repairs…
Deal’s pretty good as-is and your time investment in marketing for a buyer might be good while negotiating the short sale.

So try both. Use the subject-to as a backup to the short sale in case it doesn’t work out. Then you can exit another way.

Again, great job!!