Which is better LLC or Family Limited Partnership

I hear that an FLP is much more protective than an LLC - any comments?

i’m not a lawyer, but something in my gut says that a Family Limited Partnership would not offer the same liability protections of an LLC.

again, i’m not a lawyer. what did you hear that makes believe that an FLP would offer better protections than LLC?

Thanks. It gets a little confusing. I was at a conference where an attorney said that an LLC was piercable and they could eventually come after your personal assets. They said it could take a long time and a lot of money and that it could be done. And he said that a Family Ltd Partnership was like a pension plan - untouchable and the new way to go. I think we will start to hear more about this.

Let me start by saying I am not an attorney. What I will say is until something has been “tested” in the courts, I am not going to place my success into it.

The Series LLC is also a new entity, and it really hasn’t been fully challenged, just as this FLP. So I would think it wise to go with the tried and true, layer some entities and you should be good.

Ever try making the LLC the managing partner of the LP?

I know a fair amount about both entities and from a top level view it kind of apples and pine apples (sound similar but really different animals). A FLP is far more complex than an LLC and probably not suitable for a modest investor. An LLC can easily be set-up by a do it yourself or with a little help. A FLP is very complex in the amtter of taxes and structure an IMHO opinion would need the help of an experience atty (I’ve seen the figure of $10k quoted for set-up)