When to use Intertest Only loan

I would like to hear the different reasons why people use the intertest only loans.

I would like to use this type of loan so that my cash flow is alittle higher the 1st year.

Thanks auggflo

I usually would not go interest only unless there is equity already in the property and there is positive cash flow. Personally I would not want to get caught walking away from a closing after I sell the property with nothing to show for it.

Blue, what about for the 1st year? I’m a newbie and would like my cash flow to be as high as possible my 1st year.

Thanks
auggflo

I highly reccomend the IO option. It has the lowest foreclosure rate out of all programs, and you have 4 options every month.

What is an interest only loan?

An interest only loan does not mean you will never pay principal on a home loan. These mortgage programs have what’s known as an interest-only payment option attached to the note. In all cases the note will state how long your interest-only payments will last. Let’s use a 5 year interest-only loan for example. On a typical 5 year fixed rate under an interest-only program the interest rate is fixed for the first five (5) years of the loan term and your only obligation are interest-only payments during this term. During the beginning of the 6th year (month 61) the unpaid balance is fully amortized over the remaining term and the borrower is now obligated to make principal and interest payments to the lender. Think of it as taking a 25 year mortgage (principal & interest payments) on an adjustable rate note tied to the then current interest rates.

Who should and shouldn’t get an interest only loan?

Interest-only mortgages are pushed aggressively nowadays by lenders and brokers, but they’re not for everyone.

An interest-only mortgage might be a good fit for:

(A) someone whose income is mostly in the form of infrequent commissions or bonuses;
(B) someone who expects to earn a lot more in a few years;