What's an "option"?

I downloaded Bill Gatten’s e-book on foreclosures, and it sorta scared the bejesus out of me, cause for me, it reads like stereo instructions. Made me realize how much I just dont know or understand.

When he gets into the meat of the deal, getting the ihouse from the home-owner, he talks about getting the “option”.

Is this just another way of saying, ‘getting the house under contract’?

i am not a pro but i have read about options. this is where the seller has the “option” to buy the house for a certain price by a certain time. the seller can not back out of the deal but the seller can. for the deal to de in good consideration an option fee must be paid to the seller and it is usually nonrefundable.

Does he talk about purchasing the house on an OPTION?? like a “Sub 2” deal or something like that?

An option is an option to purchase the house, In a forclosure, its typicaly a Sub 2 option. Which means, Purchasing the house SUBJECT 2 the existing Mortgage. So for example;

You find a foreclosure property, typicaly in PRE stages.
The seller is 2 months behind on their mortgage payments.

What you as the investor might doo, is bring the mortgage current to stop the foreclosure. Than take over their mortgage in a SUB 2 option. Meaning you get the deed on the house Sub 2 the sellers existing mortgage!!

Hope this makes since!!!

Good Luck!!

MONEY!!!

::)How do you locate pre-foreclosures? Owner willing to deal with you with a lease option.

You can find foreclosures in many places. You can find them in your local paper. Under Public Notices. You can subscribe to many foreclosure websites. You can go to your county registrars office and get them there.