what would you do?

I am a Realtor. I do seconds on properties and refer some to friends when I’m invested.

One such friend is in foreclosure. He has cured the second and is 18 days from filing for sale.

He would like to have the property as there is about 100k equity after foreclosure.

He has asked me to go in with him as he feels more cash needs to come into play.

What I’m thinking is to approach the owner with an offer to cash her out and let her stay as a tenant.

What I’m looking for is alternative ideas and also how best to structure the partnership with my friend?

Land trust in a limited partnership?

Anyway any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Joel

Okay, it’s alittle confusing on exactly what is happening, but it sounds like that you’ve a friend that has found a property that is in what is called “pre-foreclosure” but he needs your cash to close the deal. I’ll respond assuming this premise.

You probably already know this, but for those that don’t, here goes. Since you are a RE agent, you must disclose this fact to the seller BEFORE you make any offers to her. Also, most state laws governing RE agents require that you inform the seller of your professional opinion of price, even if you are the buyer. Of course, this may make it a bit harder to convince her if you have to say that she has $100k in equity (though it shouldn’t be).

As to the offer, get it for the best price possible, but don’t, I repeat, DON’T, leave the owner in the property as a tenant. The short answer/reason is that it is simply too much risk for too little reward. There are a ton, heck, two tons, worth of possible negative legal outcomes to that situation to ever make it worthwhile. If the owner/tenant is elderly (even middle-aged) multiply legal problems times ten. Besides, if they couldn’t pay their house payments, what makes you think that they’ll pay you?