What would you do if you were me

Yes, I am a newb. Very much so. I have A LOT to learn, and I realize that. What I am hoping some can help me here with is what they would do if you were me? That way I can begin my research there while I determine what form of investing is best for me.

Here is my situation: I have about $125,000 in total cash available, my credit scores are very good (760), I live in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.

I am not an overly handy person, though I am not completely inept. I do currently work a 9-5 kind of job and would probably like to maintain it until I could replace that income elsewhere.

So if you are in my shoes, what kind of investing would you do?

Any advice would be seriously appreciated. Thanks!!

DFW,

With that much money, I would set up a rental property business that would replace your income. If you work hard, you should be able to do that in 5 years or less. BTW, I would hold onto that money and buy the rental properties no money down

That is exactly what I did a little over 3 years ago. I owned another business. It was a good business but required continuous work to generate the cash I needed and provided little in the way of retirement. I looked at the various real estate businesses and found that rental properties offered the chance to work very hard for a few years and then semi-retire with significant wealth and a nice monthly income. I worked like a dog for about 2 1/2 years and now I can enjoy the fruits of that work. My schedule these days is to work 3-4 hours, about 4 days a week. All other real estate businesses require you to keep hustling indefinitely if you want the income and don’t help you build wealth.

That’s my .02. You can keep the change!

Mike

Renting/Cash flow is the avenue that initially appealed to me. Right now I need to learn to find the deals because I very quickly discovered that properties listed on the MLS would not generate a cash flow.

Thanks for the advice propertymanager.