what type of lender for rentals in N.O.

I am new to real estate investing and want to purchase a single-family or multi-family dwelling in new orleans. (non-owner-occupied) I can put anywhere from 10-20% down. I want to get pre-approved before looking for properties. My score is about 630, spouse is 670.

What’s better for me? Traditional banks or HMLs? I checked with one national lender and they couldn’t help me. Should I keep trying other national lenders or try an HML? Also, can you get pre-approved with an HML if you haven’t picked out a property yet?

Thanks

yes you can get preapproved with a HML before picking a property

with your credit score you can get 100% LTV

You should be able to get decent traditional financing with that amount down and your credit scores. HML usually means high rates and high cost and I advise my clients to go that route only if necessary or if they need money quick.

You have pretty good credit scores. If you want to increase cashflow, here is what I would advise you to do:

1. Get 100% financing. We do a lot of 100% financing for investors, and with your scores you will have no problem getting it.

2. We have a program right now where if you put 20% down you can get into a 1.5% fixed for 5 years on a 30 year mortgage. If you are looking to put money down, this program would be phenomenal for you to use. It would be a huge boost to your cashflow.

Bill

I disagree with Bill- you will not increase cash flow with 100% financing- any time you borrow 100%, your payment will be relatively high and probably will be more than the amount of rent you are collecting in the first couple years if you intend to keep the property. With 100% financing, rates are higher than if you put money down, and unless you have bought the property at rock-bottom price (hopefully you have if you are a savvy investor), the mortgage payment will be more than the rent payment.