What to pursue... broker or appraiser?

I am just starting out in the Real estate arena. There is a real estate school here in my town and I wanted to know what I should study for the most benefit in rehabbing properties. I can either become a real estate agent, mortgage broker or an appraiser. What do you think would help me find the best deals? Thanks, Amy

Amy,

If you want to rehab, I would look for a Vo-Tech school and study carpentry, plumbing, electrian, masonry, etc. – more in the building trades world. My second choice would be Real Estate Inspector. If I HAD to chose one from your list it would be Appraiser (but I would be kicking and screaming)…

I think that a few classes from the “school of hard knocks” would be in order here…(maybe from Clint Eastwood’s "Heartbreak Ridge???).

Seriously, though…you would learn a lot (probably a lot more than the school will teach you) by just ‘doing’!

My two cents…

Keith

if you wanted to become a rehabber, you should learn rehabbing.
if you want a job in the industry i think mortgage brokers make the most and easiest amount and have less competition that agents do.[someone, correct me if i’m wrong on that]. but appraisers seem to be doing extremely well too.

“…someone, correct me if i’m wrong on that…”

May I?

Everything being relative…Mortgage Brokers don’t tend to make more than Real Estate Agents. Moreover, MB’s often seek referrals from RE Agents…not the other way around.

MB’s & Appraisers haven’t done well since rates blipped up in summer of ‘03.’

Many Appraisers are struggling mightily, and if rates go up (even slightly)–forecast are for half the MB’s (and therefore Appraisers working for them) to lose their jobs.