What to do when all owners can't be found?

For the third time I have found a property where the found heirs want to sell but there are 1 or 2 heirs that will not respond or can’t be found. What do you do in these instances? I recently read about partition suits where a case is brought to court and a forced sale is made. But this can cost not only court costs but also attys fees. (And from what i read 2 - 6 months. And if I understood correctly the court handles sale thru an auction with a set starting price. Although I told sellers about this option but they are keen to sell to me since I have been working with them for 2 months trying to locate everyone.)). Last quote I received for a partition was $3000 in fees. But the 3 heirs (that responded and want to sell) only stand to make +/- $7000 because of large amount of back taxes which are accumulating interest and penalty every week.

Has anyone found any creative methods for selling a house without all available parties?? Has anyone done a partition suit?

One weird idea I read about was to loan the parties money and then foreclose on house when they don’t pay. But this doesn’t seem like an idea that would win over sellers, even motivated ones!!

Hi,

When you have a property owned by multiple parties no party can hold another hostage in the deal from selling and cashing out, with that said generally the three who want to sell need to give the other two first opportunity to buy the property out.

Now in the event the property is to be sold it needs to be listed and sold for fair market value! Where your hoping for a deal all owners are entitled to a retail market sale maximizing there net returns!

The other two owners won’t and are not required by law to respond to you! They do however need to respond to each owner wishing to sell and work out a purchase to buy out sellers or agree to list the property for sale for market value.