What to do...what to do...

I’m not sure if this belongs in this post…but I’m just beginning…so I have to start somewhere!

I have a home in Vegas that I live in. I want to sell it sooner rather than later. I used the equity in the home to pay off my credit card debt and now I have a mortgage that equals what the home is worth today. I’m hoping to sell the house at $310K, but am willing to shell out another 10k out of my pocket if I have to sell at $300K. I would rent it out, but my payments are $2500/month and as a rental in Vegas, I wouldn’t get more than $1400. Can I offer a better option for financing or selling? Like a contract on sale or lease option…would that make sense?

My plan is to sell and start over. Rent for $1500 a month instead of paying $2500 on a mortgage. And use the $1000 per month to save up and start investing in multi-family properties (out of state).

Thanks for your advice. I’m under 30 and want to have my first investment property by the time I hit 30…and I don’t think it’s going to happen with me paying $2500 a month on my primary home!

Your in between a rock and a hard place. Is your area still appreciation rapidly like most of Vegas? If it is, I’d hang on to the house for a while suffering through the $2,500 payments until you gained some equity. Then I’d use that $10k your willing to lose, for a down payment on a rental property so that cash flow can offset some of your mortgage payments. Since you’ll be buying that rental property at a steep discount and with the appreciation of Vegas, soon you’ll have enough equity to buy a multifamily property.

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the advice!

Vegas isn’t appreciating, it’s in a stand still at the moment. That’s my worry, that if I do really need to sell in the next year I will have lost my opportunity to sell for what I need to pay off the mortgage. But Vegas is a strange market and you never really know what it will do from here.