What motivates open minded sellers?

Hello everyone.

I am new to real estate investing and in learning of different finance techniques, I constantly come back to one question that I was hoping others would provide their insight.

Why would any seller be open minded to the financial scenarios I am reading about? Take it one step further…The current local market is tough on buyers and easy for sellers. Prices climb quickly and as a buyer, time is of the essence. Under such conditions, even if a seller must sell, I don’t understand why they would be open minded to alternative financial packages other than all up front financing from an instution.

I appreciate, in advance ,your insight.

Sorry I don’t have time to write a more detailed response right now. However, I will say this. You won’t always know what exactly would motivate a seller to accept a particular offer. But if you have a truly motivated seller, you can get offers accepted that you never would have believed depending on how the offer is presented. One other key point. Do not think for the seller. In other words, don’t fail to present an offer because you think “they will never accept it.” You do not know what they will accept until you actually make the offer.

i’m assuming your talking about lease options, owner financing, etc. true, they are probably less likely to go for them in a market like you say, but don’t assume. you have to talk to the seller (not their agent), and get to know them and what they’re trying to do.