What market evaluation tools you are using?

I am a beginner. Actually “a course taker”, so far. And I’m wondering how to find an information where my local market is.

Just crossed a web seminar from housingalerts.com and they offer supposedly a “great” membership and a system to track up to 400 local markets, where RE goes down or up and etc. to be able to invest only in hot markets, while they are heading up. Looks like pretty good system to me but expensive, of course.

My questions are not only like “is somebody here use such tools?” but mostly where do you, guys, find such information? information that helps you analyze markets.

On my course I’ve learnt that that in each town it is possible to find such information for a fee or even free but I don’t know where to go to find it. Demographics are pretty easy but I don’t know where to go for rent levels and vacancy rates, appreciations, starts, completions, absorptions, and etc.

Any advice?

Thank you.

For your local market, go to Starbucks. If the price of your favorite latte is going up, so is your local real estate market.

…or if Starbucks is building another Starbucks right across the street from the other one!

Keith

Although funny and somewhat true, the Starbucks idea is not so solid. www.zillow.com is free and will give you great historical info on area values. Just enter an address and start clicking around. Use your own home for starters on zillow to see how accurate it is in your area.
CHris

Lianna,

Get out of the house and look at a bunch of properties for sale in your target area. Why in the world would you want information on 400 markets? The only market you need to know about is the one where you are investing, which is hopefully where you live. Join your local REIA and make friends with the SUCCESSFUL investors in your area. Read your local newspaper. Go to your local city council meetings. Meet some of the key people in your local city government. Join the chamber of commerce.