What kind of numbers do I need?

I’m a real estate agent in the metro Detroit area. I’m looking into investing and there is a large amount of REO’s on the market.

What kind of numbers make sense for the hard money lenders? from what I can tell it’s 65% of the total ARV,

who does the appraisal for the ARV? does it have to be an official appraisal from a licensed appraiser?

ARV is something i only see investors talk about, i don’t hear RE agents talk about ARV, with a shifting RE market ARV can be speculative. How can an investor be sure his property will sell at the ARV he determined it was going to be worth after rehab. Properties can take a 10% drop in value as soon as next year, especially if more homes go into default.

thank you!
john

Determining ARV in a hot market always leaves the investor with a pleasant surprise come the time of sale. There is always some extra icing on the cake. In a declining market, you’ve got to be smart with your ARV or lose money. Infact, a better term instead of ARV may be, When It Sells Value (WISV). I just coined that term so if you hear anyone else using it, I’ll be suing them when my trademark comes through.

To determine the WISV, you take the ARV minus depreciation. In declining markets, obviously prices are dropping but properties tend to sit for a while to which is salt in the wound. You need to figure out how many days on the market it will sit based on comps. If you think the market will get worse, add an appropriate amount of days to that. Then you need to track how much prices have been dropping based on comps. Instead of using the typical 3-6 comps from 6 months back, I’d use more like 15-20 from a year back and try to graph the depreciation. I elaborated more about this current problem in a recent post, although I’d never be able to find it.

Just remember that it’s always safe to overestimate. You’ll need to find bigger discounts than ever so that your bottom line doesn’t have a negative sign in front.