What is your Strategy, are you doing things differently?

http://www.reiclub.com/articles/reason-being-real-estate

I read this article last night (I said that I would read every single article available on this site as quickly as possible) and began to ask myself the various questions that Mr. Gurevich presents here. What am I doing or what will I be doing to differentiate myself from every other moron with bandit signs who has purchased a program all over town? How am I going to guarantee my own success? As I have said on this board before I am a complete newbie to real estate investing but my experience and aptitude in sales is much better as this is what I currently do for a living. I believe that the most important thing in life is sales in my opinion in everything you do. If you can’t sell yourself and what you believe in you will never be successful.

After reading this article I began trying to find parallels to being successful in REI and my corporate sales job and then I had a thought. You must have a rock solid strategy. Many people often confuse tactics with strategy. Strategy is not “I am going to put out 20 bandit signs this week.” That is a tactic. Strategy is not “I am going to place an ad in the major newspaper and wait for the calls to roll in.” This is just another tactic. Probably the most prominent of all is the “I am going to purchase this gurus programs and follow it exactly.” Again many call this the follow the leader STRATEGY but in the end, only another tactic.

Strategy means….
Doing things differently
Doing different things

My question to everyone here reading this is, are you just confusing tactics with strategy? What will you do to differentiate yourself from everyone else in your REI adventures?

Also I apologize I am not a writer but doing the best I can. I hope you enjoyed my rant.

Sean Mathes