What is the advantage of an LLC?

I’m new to investing and was wondering what the advantage of an LLC?

Unless you have significant wealth outside of real estate holding AND plan to take no part in the management of the business, the LLC has no benefit to you.

The advantage of an LLC is in asset protection to segregate your business holdiongs from your personal holdings.

Keith

Keep in mind that an LLC set up exclusively to make it more difficult for judgment creditors or potential judgment creditor to collect is illegal and the structure will not be respected by the courts. Asset protection is never a reason to do any planning except for the few exemptions given to homesteads, certain retirement plans, and life insurance.

BLL,

Can you clarify your post for me?
I guess I understand that doing things SPECIFICALLY and EXCLUSIVELY to avoid the reach of creditors or to perhaps to avoid/evade taxes is illegal.

However, the #1 advantage of an LLC (as I understand it) is to “limit” one’s “liability” - as such, isn’t every LLC created (at least in part) to limit one’s liability to lawsuits, etc.?
Thanks for helping me understand.
B

hart,

The information floating around the Internet concerning LLCs is mostly wrong. They were not created so a business owner can isolate business assets from personal assets with respect to liability. Public policy has always been that people should be held responsible for their actions and that people should pay their debts. Anything done contrary to them is not accepted by courts. Gurus and promoters don’t talk about this because they can scare people into spending big money for these plans and are long gone when the plan fails. You won’t know your plan is crap until your assets are being seized. Luckily, it almost never gets to that point. Most cases are settled for the insurance limits. Judgments in excess of a few million dollars are rare.