What do you need from a real estate agent?

Hi there. I’m a marketing guy, and I provide online marketing services for a Houston, TX based real estate agent. I’ve been working with her for the past two months, and I’ve figured out that the largest influence on the Houston area’s current bull market is real estate investors.

Because of that, I joined this board to do some research. Specifically, I need to know more about what investors such as yourselves need from real estate agents.

I’d also appreciate it if you could share some of your pet peeves about real estate agents, as well as what you look for in an ideal agent.

If you could sit an agent down and tell her exactly what she could do to make you want to do business with her, what would you say to her?

Good questions. It is refreshing to see a real estate agent reaching out to investors :slight_smile:
As an investor (I was also licensed as a real estate broker for over 20 years,) these are the main things I see an investor needing from a real estate agent: CMAs, researching high cash sales areas, researching properties that have sold for cash over the last 6 months (and corresponding cash buyers,) properties on the market with distressed keywords (“short sale possible”, “bring offers”, “motivated seller”, etc), properties that have been on the market for 90+ days (I have a good what I call “MLS strategy” to put these properties under contract.)
As far as what I would say to the agent is that it is a win-win situation. I need her help to grow my business as an investor - she helps me with the items as stated above, I will have no problem with loyalty. She can list my properties when I sell them using an agent, of course make commissions from me buying and selling, and I also pay a bonus after 3 deals that have successfully closed with her help.