What are the Benefits of a Real Estate Investor

I am new to this Real Estate Business I would like to know what are the benefit of being a Real Estate Investor

Here’s one. My wife and I are going to see the new movie 300 this afternoon. If I had a "JOB’ I wouldn’t be able to do that without using some sick time or vacation. So freedom is the biggest benefit it brings me.

FREEEEEEDDDDDOOOOOOOOMMMMMM

William Wallace :beer

Jared mentioned freedom. There’s also early retirement, tax deductions, building wealth to name a few.

My dad had 10K in 1963, made a down payment on a small commercial property, assumed a 15K mortgage, with 15 years more to go. Around 1979, when he was in his late fifities, the mortgage was paid off, and he retired from the rent.

Today, in his 80’s, he still owns it. Each month, a handful of rent checks, close to $7,000/month pays for a nice retirement. Two years ago, when he was seriously ill, he had a major operation, then went to rehab, and we helped out. The work consists of making one to two trips to his bank each month, two blocks from his house, to deposit the rent checks. About 20 minutes work a month if one trip, or 40 minutes work if I had to deposit late rent checks Commercial tenants pays the heat and the taxes, does the maintenance, shovel snow, fix toilets etc., and stays years and years

He mentioned once just buying one right property can make a nice retirement. He owned a small business, does not have a pension, and the social security only comes to a few hundred a month. Compare that to making thousands a month on the rent.

Through the years, he thought real estate was risky, and was afraid to invest more into it. Being frugal, he was investing most of the rent checks into tax free muncipals since 1979, and sitting on another fortune.

If my dad didn’t do real estate, he’ll be on food stamps, section 8 housing, bugging me every month for money, instead of sitting pretty.