Webpage and Articles

I’m creating a website for my business (following fadi’s advice for setting it up) and was wanting to put articles on there to attract more visitors. Now being a beginner myself I can’t really pen a lot of articles with my limited REI experience so I was wondering what the rule was for say “quoting” someone else’s article. I’d put a link to their site and give them full credit.

Is it always wise to ask permission first, even if you provide a link to where you got it and the name of the author?

You need permission from the copyright owner to use his material. You may be able to get away with posting just a link without permission, but that doesn’t help generate much traffic.

scostell - you can get an automatic feed from a feed provider that will include news/information directly in your website.

A colleague from my local REIA group sent me a link to his website (http://www.azhomezone.com/). As you can see he has two windows on the right - one shows the mortgage rates and the other shows real estate news. He has only to include the feed directly into his website. The feed provider will update it on a regular basis.

You can typically get those feeds for free. If you are using a hosting service (GoDaddy.com or 1and1.com, or other similar) they typically offer you a host of feeds that you can easily add to your website.

I hope this helps. Good luck!

PS: other than meeting the owner of the above website in the REIA meeting I don’t have any other connection with him or his website.

You could buy some articles, depends on what you want to put on your website… some of them are very cheap…

Thanks guys, pretty much what I figured. I think i’m gonna try and write my own. I could write one on each stumbling block that I face going forward. Won’t be putting out a lot of articles, but it’ll grow slowly.