Wash. Flipping Law

I am curious to find out what kinds of laws other states have regarding fix-and-flip properties. In Washington State, a law was enacted in July of 2007, which states that a flipper or homeowner looking to sell within 12 months of purchasing and repairing a property must be a licensed and bonded contractor. Repairs of less than $500 are exempt. Even if the flipper uses a licensed and bonded contractor to do the repairs, the flipper is still required to be licensed and bonded.

Needless to say, this issue has been a hot topic during Washington REIA meetings.


This article may be a bit dated but it lists several others…