Wanting to Start Investing

I have been studying REI on and off for the last 10 years. I am not a complete beginner, I have owned some houses and built a house.

My situation is I have 100K equity in my condo that I live in with my family. Very little debt. I have an 800 credit score and a job bringing home around 70k. I have a VA certificate also. I am wanting to make money and the goal is to get enough cash flow so I can take a break from my job and sail with my family for a year or two or longer. I will work at least 2 more years.

Question for experienced investors is what would you do if you were in my situation?

How much money do you have saved? I would start saving as much as possible, then think about your condo. Do you want to live there or rent it out? With VA you have to be an owner occupant, but you could buy with virtually nothing down. You could rent out the condo, buy another place that could be a good rental in the future and rent out the new place in a year.

I have 2k saved not counting retirement.
I have considered buying a house with VA but I do not believe I can legally rent it out. Maybe refi it down the road?

Hello there! I hear you! I love to sail as well, and one day soon (I have an 11 year old in school still,) I hope to be gone extensively as well.
One of my business partners, who sails 8 months out of the year, lives off rental income from 16 duplexes he has bought over the years. With your credit score and income, your best bet would be to approach smaller banks (portfolio lenders), establish a relationship with one or two of them, do a loan on an investment property, and progressively add to the portfolio.
These lenders are much more lenient on guidelines and loan to value - if they see you as a good risk, they can go up to 90% on investment property. In the mean time, do some wholesale deals so you can pull out some fast cash to use on downpayment and closing costs in building your residual income investments.