want to get started

I’m ready to start investing. I live in LA and I started by looking for houses on the internet for 40,000 or less - I have found 2. They are about 15 minutes from each other, would it be wise to buy a couple houses in different areas to start as rentals.

I’m new to this but here’s what I have learned through Carleton Sheet’s course. He says to start by picking neighborhoods close to you, I assume for the following simple reasons:

1. It’s easier to patrol these areas and be pretty much the first one to see when these properties come up for sale.

2. If you do decide to use the properties as rentals, its easier to collect rent when the properties are closer to you, that way you are not wasting your time tracking down tenants when you could use that time investing in more properties!!

I’m by no means saying you should limit yourself to one certain area, but he says its easier for a person just starting out. You can always broaden your areas later after you get your feet wet. I guess that would be up to you whether or not you would want to drive the 15 minutes to pick up another rent check. If the deal is right, I know I wouldnt hesitate a 15 minute drive…to me it would just be a short road trip!! LOL

Hope this helps, like I said I’m just starting out too, but this is just what I have learned from the no money down course. :wink: