Want to Build Condos - General Questions

Hello,
This is actually my first post on this site, so if i have not posted in the right place, please let me know. (yes i did read the intro material). If you have real experience building / developing, please don’t hold back and give it to me straight. Thanks in advance!

My situation is as follows:
  • My father is a small time builder / landlord and he has been in the business for 30+ years (in Ontario, Canada). He’s not a hot shot builder by any stretch of the imagination… in fact if you saw him on the street you might want to give him some money for his next meal. But he has always had a love for real estate and has built a pretty nice portfolio for himself (considering where he has come from)

• I have been around real estate / construction my whole life, so I understand the basics, but I’m not a pro by any stretch. I have recently developed a passion for development and building myself and I can’t stop consuming information on it (my brother and I are going to be taking over the family business, and we are serious about taking it to the next level)

I’ll get to the point…
-My father own a particular property that I would like to develop and potentially build condos on. Here is what I know based on my research:
-The area is booming, and condo’s now account for 1 out of 5 homes sold here.
-Warehouse to Condo conversions sell for 305/sqft and new developments (in that specific area) go for upto $365/ sqft.
-Across the street in front of our land they are building two condos totaling 300 ish total units (literally across the street)
-The zoning for our property is zoned for high density, multi-residential (thats what we call it here), meaning, yes we can develop condos on our site.