Using Realtors, I say do it.

I am a realtor so I am slightly biased, but my using realtor strategy is quite different then most. When I didnt invest myself, all I did each and every day was look at new listings and price changes for my buyers, when I saw something great I called them. This enabled my buyers to get good deals without having to chase homes all day. Many investors have full time jobs so they cant leave at 1 to see a home that offers will end on by 4. (in hopping markets homes sell the same afternoon they come out) This is the job of a good realtor. Many of my buyers would never even see the home or even the contract until after it was accepted. Then we would use our inspection time (Weasel clause) on the property and they would determine whether I had made a good decision for them or not.

I recommend that all investors develope this type of a relationship with a very good realtor. I do not advocate having your realtor make decisions for you until you have seen what they can do, or maybe never at all, but do have them watching the market carefully, daily for you. Oh, the bad part is once they see how much money they are making for you they may become investors themselves.

Onto my real realtor strategy, this is the one that I dont see anyone else talking about…

Using dumb realtors to your advantage. When you look at the dumb realtors out there, most dont know the slightest thing about investing. They will turn there clients onto anything that makes them a commission, without the slightest knowledge of what is a good investment and what isnt.

So how do you use these guys/gals? I put 5% (instead of the usual 3%)buyer side commisions on the properties that I am going to flip, then I personally call the dummies and let them know about my property and about the huge commission and how it could all be theirs. Then I sell him on why my home is such a great investment, so that he knows how to sell it for me.