Unit colors

So next week we are scheduled to start rehab on one of our 4plexes. And it strikes me that there might be some psychology and startegy to having a certain set of color combinations in the units. I’m making the assumption that an eggshell white paint, and light beige colored carpet is a standard. Seems it is easier to match appliances, and furniture with a white then anything else. But then I am by no means an interior designer or in fact someone who has any fashion sense whatsoever.

Do you use the same paint/carpet/laminate combination across all of your properties? And, what are those colors? Assuming of course they are rented to the same class of renters? We are looking at lower end renters here. Running 5-600/mo. Which is the low end for a 800sqft 2/2. I’ve seen rents in apartments with amenities getting up to 1000/mo., with the same sqft.

Yes. It’s a mistake to get your “decorator on” when it comes to rentals. Spend time and money being creative and unique only on ‘your’ house, not your renter’s.

That said, you don’t have to limit yourself to carpeting. You can lay quality tile in the units, and theoretically save about three or four carpet installations over a period of ten years, especially in a high turn-over situation.

If you decide to re-carpet, buy a little more than you need, so that you’ve got spare yardage to replace damaged spots/areas. Many times, you can simply cut out the damage without replacing the entire room.

This goes with ceramic tile, too. You want extra pieces to replace those that get broken, chipped, or cracked (if the damage is obvious enough).

It’s cost efficient to stick with the same paint color, same manufacturer, and “box” all the paint so that the color remains as consistent between coats and touch-ups. (“Boxing paint” means mixing all the paint together, so that it’s all consistent in color and application).