Trouble Deciding Where to Start....START HERE!

I started out answering one dude’s question about where to start…Then after a massive typing frenzy I realized that I would post it on it’s own…I try to make post like the ones I would have wanted to see when I was getting started…So it’s fairly thorough.

One of the questions I see asked very frequently in the forums is: I’m a Newbie to the investing world where do I start?

Often times questions come from newbie investors who are feeling frustrated and mind fricked by where they should start their investing business? The truth is that anyone who’s currently succeeding in real estate has probably been there, done that, and got the T-Shirt…starting up can be a crazy thing.

From my experience a profitable and long lasting real estate business requires only a small degree of planning from the start. Then frequent updates to your plan as you go along.

To get started I would recommend taking 10 minutes and answering these 3 questions. The purpose being to align the structures of your new business and get your ships all sailing in the right direction.

Identifying your constraints- what factors are going to limit you?

• Are you so broke that homeless people offer you change?
  • Are you a “If it weren’t for bad credit you wouldn’t have any credit at all type of person”?
  • Do you have lots of time but no money?
  • Do you have lots of money but no time?

By identifying your business constraints BEFORE you get started, you won’t run into the common nightmare of spending the year learning about a “Super Deluxe Exit Strategy”, only to find out that you don’t have the resources available to put it to work.

Define your ideal outcome
- Where do you want to end up in the next 6 months, 1 year, 2 years,…10 years. How much money are you seeking to earn and which income streams do you plan to have that money coming from?

• Do you plan on having $1,000/month passive income from rental property?