Transferring Title to Cash Out at better Terms

My mother recently has had some financial difficulties and is unable to cash out the equity due to the adverse affect it has had on her credit. The house is worth 250k with a mortgage of about 140, however, she has a HELOC of 7k, and owes about 7k in back taxes. I am looking for suggestions on how we could sell the property to me or get it in my name so I could refinance it because I have decent credit (680 Transunion and 720 Experian). I was wondering on how we could go about structuring a transaction. Our first thought was having her add my name onto the title and I could refinance it under my name and remove hers so her bad credit would’t affect the interset rate. She is also willing to hold paper and has also talked to a loan officer who suggested 175k of financing and have her hold 75k but it was at 7.95% and I thought that was ridiculous. I am a 22 year old student and I am self-employed and work part time for an additional $15,000 a year, but will be starting a full time position in August at a Salary of 50k. I could have a family member co-sign but I would only like to do that as a last resort. I would greatly appreciate any feedback and suggestions on what to do or where to go. Thanks.

-Tom

Howdy WilliamT:

The sale needs to be an arms length transaction or the lender will not make the loan and the title company will not insure the transfer. I am working on the same problem with the house I live in and my sister getting a loan for me. She has a different last name but we are related just the same. The mortgage broker wants to ignore this but it could be a problem. My lsat house I sold to a friend and then he sold to my dad and we did basically the same deal. I actually owned that house under a contract for deed.

You may need to go with the higher rate. I would suggest a good lawyer too for some help

LOL HTH