Transactional funding underwriting

Hello,

I’m a private lender and I’ve been approached recently about providing transactional funding for a wholesale deal. I’ve never done one of these transactions before but have researched them online. I was wondering if I needed any documents (i.e. a contract) between the “B” party and myself or is it all done between the escrow company and myself? What are the crucial escrow instructions to look for? Any tips on how to conduct this type of transaction safely would be greatly appreciated.

Jacek

Assuming you are talking about the 1 day variety, essentially the whole transaction is done with the title company.
You can do a couple diff things.
You can tell the B that you will only fund after the C has sent his funds to the title company. This only works with cash C buyers.

What I do is simply instruct the closing agent not to disburse funds for the A-B if the B-C doesn’t close the same day. So if the B-C falls apart, they simply unwind the A-B.

Just make sure the B gets Title Insurance. That is the only thing that can come back to bite you.

Also, seems simple but also make sure the Title Company is real. This is a way to get you, arrange the back to back through a phony title company. Your money is gone. It is amazing how easily we trust a simple fax saying wire money to ABC title company.

Eric3,

Thank you very much for your insights. So essentially you rely on escrow to unwind A-B if B-C fails. Have you ever taken extra precautions for a possibility of A-B closing without B-C? More specifically, how would your rights to the property be secured if A-B closes and B-C doesn’t?

Jacek