$$ to purchase at auction

I am new at real estate investing, I found several really good deals that are coming up at auction next month. Are there lenders that will loan you the money to purchase at auction? I am in CA we plan to fix and flip, my partner has really good credit (upper 700’s) any info would be greatly appreciated.

I haven’t tried this personally.

My first thought is that I suggest you call a bank and ask them. Any banks you are thinking of doing business with. They’ll tell you in 5 minutes whether they would fund this type of transaction.

My second thought is with auctions, you need to pay the money typically within 24 hours of winning the bid. Most banks I know can’t fund that fast.

I hope this helps.

Don’t know specifically about CA, but I’m a regular attendee of SNJ auctions and here:

1. you need 20% certified funds or cash IMMEDIATELY upon being declared successful bidder
  2. the balance is due 10 days from the auction (the PO has 10 days to redeem the property)
  3. if you don’t pay up at the end of the 10 day period, you lose your deposit

You need your financing lined up before you buy at an auction. If you don’t have the cash available, you might want to look at securing a HELOC you can draw from once you are a successful bidder.

thanks, have heard there are hard money lenders that lend at auction, does anyone know of one?

I purchased an apartment building for $429k at auction. I put $10k cash down at the time of winning the bid and I have to pay the difference within 30 days. My 30 time limit is up this Wed. In this time frame I have found a HML who will put up the remaining funds for the auction purchase. Within 30 days (from this Wed) I will have the building refinanced through Dollar Bank. I made these refinance arrangements after I won the bid at auction.

I have to pay $30k up front to the HML and then $4k per month as long as I have the loan. The way I’ve structured this I’ll only have to pay for one month before I refi.