To Invest Or Not To Invest

Hi all,

I am new to REI. I have been looking for a forum like this for a long time. I just found it this evening, and reading all the postings it looks like there are a whole bunch of people here to answer questions and give assistance.

I have good credit, a stable job, and money available to start my investing career, however I do not know how to go about it. I have read a whole bunch of books on the forclosure topic and how to invest in them, but none that I have read (or I fell asleep during that chapter) say how to find these properties. Some say go to a court house, some then say read the legal notices in the paper, and others say to place an ad in the newspaper.

Then some say to have a voice mail for people to call, some say to knock on the door, mail letters, make phone calls, etc… What is the best approach.

I have decided that I would like to attempt investing in pre-forclosures. What type of paper should I invest in? How do I get a line with just a voice mail?

Will someone please help me out with this?

Joe

Back up Joe and take a deep breath.

Foreclosure may or maynot be the best avenue. After reading the books you might try getting some street smarts. That means going to a real estate club in your area. Hang out, network with people that are doing it.

Learn different aspects of real estate investing to see what is best for you.

Most foreclosures don’t get that way overnight. They have deferred maintenance. That means rehabbing. Do you have those contacts?

All those approachs on how to find them work. Some more efficient than others. Keep learning.

As first timer, I would not recommend starting with foreclosures.
It’s too risky. Yes, you can make a lot of money - if you know what you’re doing - If you don’t, you can loose everything !