To hold or not to hold that is the question.

Hi my name is Steve, I will be attending the three day seminar in Wilmington on the 16th,17th, and 18th. I am going to settlement in two weeks on two properties located in pa. One I will purchase for $26000 the other for $5000. Both homes are in need of repair. I estimate the $26000 property will require approximately $12000 to bring it up to date and in comparable condition to the homes selling for $80,000 to $90000 on that street. This will bring my total investment to $38,000. This estimate is based on me doing all the work ( I’ve been a general contractor for approx. 24 years).
Now I know this sounds great and I should make a killing on the property if I sell it. The only problem is that single family homes sells very slow in the area and appreciation is very low. So To hold or not to hold that is the question.
my question is should I hold the property, refinance and rent the property out for $475.00 month (that is the going rate for the area) and try to generate cash flow or dump and run. Ultimately I would like to hold properties for cash flow but right now I need the capital in this property to continue buying and rehabbing other properties such as my little $5,000 gem in the rough.
If any one on here has any insight on how to best approach this I would be most grateful
Thanks
Steve ::slight_smile:

Selling quickly doesn’t take rocket science. Price the property 1-5% below the market rate and you will sell before any others. If you buy a property with the plan to flip it, you should know this up front BEFORE you purchase. Then factor in a selling price that is 5% below market into your numbers for the deal. If the profit is still acceptable to you then do the deal.

Thanks for the reply carlittle,