Thoughts on a Rehab

Hello all … NooB here looking at his first investment/rehab and would like to see what others think about this deal. First off, I live in a small city 35 miles n/w of Pensacola, FL and 35 miles n/e of Mobile, AL. I found a 3bed 2 ba 1900sq brick home situated on 2 lots ( one a corner lot) 2 blocks from the hospital in a middle class neighborhood. Only 4 blocks from my home. It also has a 30 x 20 workshop unattached in the back built with the same brick as the home. Looks beautiful on the outside. New roof, new heatpump/AC.
Both bathrooms need updated, kitchen needs refurb’d, needs carpet wall repair and paint. Comps are 110 - 140 and the tax assesment is 98,500 which is normally 60 to 70% below ARV from what I know of my area. The house has been empty now for 1 1/2 years. My realtor says she has shown it many times but the people all want a “move in” home and not one they have to repair. She tells me she can sell it for 120k easy if it was fixed up. The owner lives 100 miles to the north but from what she says he is firm on his bottom price of 70k.

Here are my thoughts, I could split the lot since it sits on 2 lots and either build on or sell the corner lot while I am rehabbing the home. I can see 2 opportunities here, but as many first timers I have read about in the past month of research, I am not sure if this is “The One” to start with.

I just ordered Scotts “Rehabbing for Big Cash” course but do not really want this to get away from me if it is really “The One”.

Also, I do my own rehabbing. I rehabbed my own home after hurricane Ivan destroyed it. I just completed building my own solid birch kitchen cabinets the other day.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Howdy Larry: