Thinking about investing....advice needed!!

I’m new to the discussion forums and would like your advice… I’m really interested in investment properties. I currently have my real estate lic. in WI. I’ve been reading books on forclosures, flipping etc. and trying to read anything and everything I can get my hands on. I need a little advice as to how to choose which route to take as a beginner. Rentals vs. flipping (I do have a full-time job), slow or fast approach in today’s market. What to look for and the best place to look for properties (besides MLS). Any advice for a beginner would REALLY be appreciated. And also from the lending side as well (money down, etc.). :biggrin Good Luck to all!!!

There are a lot of variables to consider. I have been rehabbing for a long time and always have done it to flip. I never wanted to be a landlord and I also wanted quicker cash flow. There are advantages and disadvantages either way.

Right now, buying REO’s or foreclosures are a great way to go. Just make sure you buy a manageable project in a desirable neighborhood. Also, if you are planning to flip, make sure it will be the nicest house in its price range when it is done - and that you are prepared to hold it if the market stays slow.

I have recently been working on green modular homes as an alternative to rehabs - I think it is another good option to find a niche. Where in Wi are you - I am in Madison? Contact me directly if you want.

Ron

Frank,

Could you explain more about what a “green modular home” consists of? Also, would you mind talking a bit about what it is you do in relation to these green homes?

Thanks

Sure - the modular home package I am working with is built to the same specifications as a site built home but with the greater quality control of indoor prefabrication. It is delivered to the job site and weather tight in a day or two. The green specifications involve increased energy efficiency, healthy materials, and sustainable practices.