The real "Herd"

I’ve seen some posts about the “herd” buying guns, ammo, provisions etc. while others are out there making killer profitable deals. I don’t think the prior is in the “herd”.
The real “herd” is doing neither making deals or storing canned goods. They go to work everyday while struggling to pay bills. They dollar cost average into their 401K’s mutual funds because that’s what they are supposed to do. The herd is getting creamed!!!
I’m a newbie investor who would be getting creamed with them if I followed the popular personal finance line of “dollar cost averaging”. I’m doing well with a short sale 4 unit I purchased in December of 2008. And, I’m doing well in the stock market because of ETF’s like EUO, EPV and RSW. I just want to thank everyone on this board for their contributions. Thanks!!

JP

good thoughts JP…

here’s a little late-in-the-day perspective from Tyler over at Zerohedge…a good blog to add to your trading tools:

http://www.zerohedge.com/article/bloodbath

-Mike
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Qk9NzAPOKQ

Jfpen,
With all due respect I feel that dollar cost averaging is the best way for a novice investor to get into the market…My wife’s 401k has been totally dollar cost averaged and she is in the green on a 10 year return by a good amount…I guess it helps that I often shift her money around but all the same I feel this method works best over time…It enforces a saving mentality for the average person and it gets you into equities at a variety of price levels with relatively small chunks of money at once…So your never in pain per say because you are taking a long time horizon trade and I truly feel if you have a long term outlook and dollar cost average you will be a winner in the market…Give the average person $1 million to put to work at once in the market or $100,000 and they put it in at once I can guarantee they will be a loser before a winner…