Taxes

I have been flipping for a few years. I have been keeping the houses for a year and day to help with my taxes. I do 90 % of the work myself. Next year I would like to flip a few houses in a year and sub out more of the work.
Is there any way to cut down on my taxes? I would prefer to keep more of the money!
Thanks,
Michael

Congratulations!

Having a tax problem is good. It means you are making a profit.

The best thing you can do for this is seek out good professional advice. A good CPA who is familiar with this type of business is invaluable. Provided that you find a competent one, they are not an expense if they save you more than their fees.

That said, you are already getting capital gains treatment according to your posting. This is good if you can manage to do it since the tax rate in capital gains is less than the tax rate on ordinary income, as you know.

Are you incorporated yet? A regular C corporation might let you take more tax deductions for items that you do not take as an individual. Also, you can maximize the benefits that you are allowed to take under the law that are a tax expense for the corporation, but that might not be taxed as income to you as an individual. These are commonly called fringe benefits. Your tax professional can help you structure this.

Make sure you get your tax advice from a tax advisor who is throroughly familiar with the tax treatment for dealer dispositions.

When you say that you have been flipping for a few years, it raises a red flag for me. By default, property flipping is an active income business and all your income is ordinary income to the business. Capital gains tax treatment does not apply, regardless of how long you have held the property.

Perhaps you misstated your business model, but if not, you need a professional tax advisor on your team now.

Great point, Dave T!