Tax implications of owner financing real estate

I have been paying cash for single family homes, and I am considering owner financing some of them to qualified tenants. I have never done that before.

I anticipate I will use a lease to own, or deed in lieu of foreclosure, financing method for the tenant with a $3-10k down payment on a property that I have a basis of $10k to $25k in, for a sales price of 3x my basis. These methods ARE legal in Texas, but they have to be done right to keep it legal - so I will have a real estate lawyer draw up all the paperwork.

I have researched selling mobile homes this way pretty intensely, and I understand that since mobile homes are personal property they would make me subject to a capital gains tax that could hurt pretty bad. So if I sold a $5k home for $15k, with $5k down at 9% interest amortized over 15 years, I would be subject to a $10k capital gains tax on “phantom” income that I have not really earned yet! THAT SUCKS!!!

I do not anticipate doing this with mobile homes as I make too much money to hassle with these little deals. My current real estate investment strategy involves buying “slightly bigger” all cash deals, aka lower & middle income single family homes.

But - anyway - I have heard the tax implications are not NEAR as bad when you owner finance REAL PROPERTY.

Could someone explain that to me?

Say I sold a $20k home for $60k, with $5k down at 9% interest amortized over 15 years.

Thanks,
MotivatedCEO

Look up the IRS pub on installment sales.

In a nutshell,