Tax Deed sales

Hey guys,

Question. I’m very interested in Tax Deed Sales. I heard Ted Thomas speak at the Real Estate Expo on NYC this weekend. He gave alot of useful info but one thing I don’t understand is

Is it ever really possible to get the house/property free and clear after the auction? Ted explained that all liens included mortgages are whiped away by the county/govt and that the property tax lein takes presendent over all other liens. But how is this possible? And why wouldn’t the bank just purchase the deed?

I will do a title search on every property whether it be a tax deed sale or a tax lien sale but I figure almost all properties will come back with liens/mortgages on them and once you win the tax deed won’t you be responsible for them?

Thanks
Jordan

anyone?

Where are you buying? I’m not an expert, but having some experience in a couple states, the laws were different.

If you let us know where you are located maybe someone from that state can answer your questions.

Good luck, B-

BTW, I know you mentioned NYC, but that doesn’t mean you are purchasing in NY. B-

Hey Betty,

I live in NJ but I’m looking to purchase in FL and PA.

Thanks

Unfortunately I have no experience in those states (I’m TX and VA); but we do have a number of investors on this site who should be able to help you.

Wishing you success.

I’m interested in TX as well, just a little further away. Can you talk about you experiences in TX related to my questions?

I just bought a house at a tax deed sale, and I own it free and clear (have to pay cash – I paid about 30% of what it will be worth once it’s fixed up). However, I’ve found it nearly impossible to get title insurance for 3 years, which means I can’t re-finance it (which I wanted to, so I could rent it out), and can’t SELL it.

I’m speaking with attorneys about clearing the title, but if anybody has any thoughts, I’d love to hear them.

Can’t you just file a Quiet Title Suit?