Substitution of Collateral

Are there any Substitution on Collateral experts on this board?

I ran across a “course” that provides an overview of using common debt instruments to fund REI.

Does anyone have any experience in this area?

Thanks, john

I’m no expert, but I have heard of acquantiances doing so pretty sexy things using a substitution for collateral.

One guy I know is an avid investor, and mixes his portofolio between holders and flippers. When the choice is there, he will move a note away from a property he is going to turn over, and puts it on a property that has a healty cash flow. In doing this he maintains his cash flow (although it’s a little less) and gets more cash in hand. Not a bad way to get a low interest loan, huh?

If you get more info on this topic, do share as I’m only familiar the basics :slight_smile:

Cross collateral … seller carry back… swing loan-gap financing- bridge loan… mezzanine loan . what are you tring to do?

The “course” I mentioned in the original post explains using non-Real Estate debt instruments (Corporate/Muni Bonds) in a Substitution of collateral techinque.

I’ll put together a synopsis and post later.

john

Sounds like pretty cool stuff to me. Can’t wait for the post John.

Now johnny q, what exactly is a mezzanine loan?

Mezzanine loan