Study Books Vs. Seminar/Courseware

Hello Everyone.
First let me say I am a very new Newbie so please forgive any of the generic questions. I have started on the road to REI and I am looking to put my time into studying and getting well roaded before jumping at the deals.

When I say I am new I mean that I have started in the last two weeks. I am looking for honest opinions from both other “newbies” and the veterans on what you think. I plan to study for about 6 months of anything and everything I can get my hands on that is Real Estate. I’ve gone to the Library and gotten some books. They are the generic “Getting Started” style books which don’t give the step-by-step but more of the overview so when I get into the step-by-step I will know terminology and things like that.

My questions to everyone is when you get to the Step-by-step portion is it better to buy the actual courseware that any number of guru’s are selling or can you get good information in store bought books?

I am an avid believer in “You get what you pay for” so I can see saving up the spare cash to buy a good study guide from a reputable guru but if I can get the same if not more information from buying 5 - 10 different books at a cheaper “per book” cost then I would like to know from people who have been where I am and have moved on. (in my example I mean buying 1 course for $500 compared to 10 separate books at say $50… I am willing to invest my time, money, and effort I just want to make sure what I am doing is the best use of everything.

Also if anyone knows of good books/courseware I would love to hear about them as well ;D

David

Hey David,