Strategies for buying at discount?

Hey,

As I’ve stated in my previous posts, I’m a complete newbie at real estate investing, looking to acquire a 3-6 unit building.

Since first posting here a few weeks ago, I have read some books and done some research (and read a lot of threads here, not just on this forum but on others). And I think I know enough about how this works to realize what my first major problem is.

Looking at listings in my area, the buildings I’m looking at seem very much overpriced. Generally, 4-unit buildings are listed for between $360,000 and $400,000.

I understand that a true investor would never buy a building at that price, but would only buy at discount. But how are these discounts found?

Find desperate sellers. Find properties that need work. Too many “investors” just want turn-key properties. The discount from market rate will be found when there’s an issue - the seller is at a point where they pretty much have to put a bunch of money into the property or just sell it as-is.

Well, yes, I understand the theory that I must find “motivated sellers”. I was hoping for a few tips on just how to seek them out. :slight_smile:

Start looking at foreclosed multifamilys. Theres a fair amount of them out there right now and they usually come with a pretty decent discount.

Our banker has given us a couple leads. The more you get your name out there as someone who buys houses, the more chances you’ll have to pick the good deals. If you find some buildings you’re interested in, punch the addresses into your county property tax website and find out who the owner is. If you find a 4 unit that looks like it needs some work, maybe the owner wants out of it.

I found a reasonably priced 5-unit on MLS. I am going to check it out in person tomorrow morning.

To try to get a sense of vacancy rates around town, I have been looking at mailboxes and seeing how many boxes have names on them.