Startup investor

Hello, i am sean thompson. i am new to the real estate investing scene, and am trying to get off the ground on my first property.

what i am thinking about is : contact a corporate attorney to setup a small company, either a LLC or a limited partnership, but rather than paying the attorney up front, i would invest him in the company he helps create. he would be paid in dividends over the life of the property. Once the company is setup, i would advertise as many networking sites as i have available for investors. the investors in the company would recieve dividends for the life of the property.

is this a good way to get started ? or does someone have a better way to get started ? i have no capital to put into a property, but im seeing a number of profitable deals in my area. the top properties on my list should generate approximately 10k-40k gross per year.

constructive criticism is appreciated. helpful comments are appreciated.

thank you for your time.

Lawyers don’t want to be your business partner. They want to set it up get paid and then they are not hostage to if you are a good businessman or not, or if you are honest or not, or if the tenenat from hell ends up in one of the properties or not.

You said you have no money to invest. In general a person with no money to invest has some problem in their life that would tend to prevent others from wanting to investing with you. You need to ask yourself why you don’t have any money. Fix that. Then invest. You will find, if you are honest, that the reason you don’t have any money is a real problem that if fixed and even if you don’t ever invest in real estate you will have a better life.

I’d say you’re on the money (no pun intended) about most attorneys not wanting to touch business partnership with a 10’ pole.