Single or Multi-Family For Rental?

How do you pro’s feel about single-family vs multi-family homes for rental?

As a newbie, I can see pros and cons for both.

Land Baron,

I would strongly suggest starting with a few single family homes. Tenants in single family homes tend to be better behaved and will allow you to get accustomed to all of the tenant issues and nonsense. Single family houses are also a LOT easier to sell than multi-family and appreciate better than multis. This allows you to get out of the rental business if you find out that rentals are not for you, and that is the case for a LOT OF NEW LANDLORDS. As with most businesses, being a landlord is nothing like the idealized fantasy portrayed by the gurus. So far, I haven’t spent a single day on my luxury yacht or flying to Europe on my private jet for lunch.

I belileve that the main reason people want to start with multi’s is that they’re in a hurry to have a massive rental empire. While that may be a lofty goal, getting too big too fast is often a recipe for disaster.

Mike

Well said Mike.

Once you decide this is the business for you after trying your hand at a few SFHs, it’s okay to move up the ladder intelligently fast. That doesn’t mean after you’ve owned 3 SFHs to buy a 15,000,000 sq ft industrial park in Dubai. Going from SFHs to a few 4 plexes then from 4 plexes to 8 then to 16-32-64-128 isn’t unreasonable. If your comfortable doubling the size of your properties every year or so then go for it!

It’ll take a while before you can purchase your aircraft carrier of a yacht and show up to work in a chinook, but some people do it, so it’s possible.

Thanks for the input, fellas.

I asked about multi-family because I’ve seen a few duplexes and single-family homes with garage-apartments that looked interesting.

Thanks.

Land Baron,