Should I start with Tax Lien Deeds/Certificates as a beginer?

Hello everyone,

I have read through a lot of posts and have learned a lot already. I am new to investing as well as to the REIClub. I have always been interested in and always go back to realestate as my chosen career path no matter what job I have at the time. I have never had a lot of time to study or anything to learn anything about it until recently.

First a brief bio of myself. I am 26 years old, married and serving in the US Navy. My wife and I have been married for just over 2 years. When we got married I told her I never wanted to rent cause it was money down the drain. Well we were forced to rent for the first year due to credit and financial shortages. But last year we decided to buy a house. Common sense told me then to buy a duplex or triplex and live in one and rent the other(s) out. My wife on the other hand didnt like the properties that I found and wouldnt settle for anything except our brand new house that we now own financed 100% through the VA.

The house is nice and all but it doesn’t bring any money in obviously and we are still the same finacnially as we were last year. I can move and rent it out after I have lived in it for a year but cant afford another mortgage. I would like to take advantage of some of the “No Money Down” oportunities but am a little bit on the fence. I get out of the Navy in June of next year and dont want to stretch myself too thin.

Which brings me to the Tax Lien Deeds/Certificates. I have studied on them a lot for here in GA. They just seem to be to good to be true. I mean the state guaranteeing a 20% percent return on your money or you get the property!! I’m worried that Im missing something here. If not though I see it as a great way to start investing and maybe even end up with more properties.

Is this all it is cracked up to be or should I look other places?